Belarus is a landlocked former Soviet republic in Eastern Europe, bordered by Russia, Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania and Latvia. After the fall of the Russian Empire Belarus enjoyed less then a year of independence, turning into a part of the USSR. It declared itself sovereign in 1990 and independent in 1991. In the Soviet post-war years, Belarus became one of the most prosperous parts of the USSR, but with independence came economic decline. Belarus is a presidential republic, it has an aging industrial base, and a broad agricultural base.

Belarus capital is Minsk, country’s population is 9.5 million (83.7% Belarusian, 8.3% Russian, 3.1% Pole, 1.7% Ukrainian).