Tajikistan, a former Central Asian Soviet republic, is a mountainous, landlocked country, bordering Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, and China. Tajikistan was first created as an autonomous republic within Uzbekistan in 1924, but the USSR designated Tajikistan a separate republic in 1929. It gained independence in 1991 after the fall of the Soviet Union, which has led to the 6 years long civil war. Today its economy is dependent on remittances from Tajiks working in Russia.

Tajikistan is a dominant-party presidential republic. It’s capital is Dushanbe, population – 8 million (84.3% Tajik, 13.8% Uzbek, 0.8% Kyrgyz).