Kyrgyzstan, or Kyrgyz Republic – a former Soviet Republic in Central Asia, bordering China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. Kyrgyzstan was established in 1936 by the Soviets and became independent with the collapse of the USSR in 1991.

With insignificant energy resources and a developing gold mining sector, the country relies on imports for most of its oil and gas needs. Its capital is Bishek, Population – 6.1 million (73.0% Kyrgyz, 14.6% Uzbek).