Armenia is a former Soviet republic in the mountainous Caucasus region. It’s a landlocked country, bordering Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey and Iran. Armenia was annexed by Bolshevist Russia and incorporated into the Soviet Union in 1922. After independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, Armenia quickly became drawn into a bloody conflict with Azerbaijan over the region of Nagorno-Karabakh.

Armenia is particularly dependent on Russian commercial and governmental support. It joined the Russia-led Eurasian Economic Union in January 2015, but has expressed interest in expanding its economic ties with the European Union as well.

Armenia is a semi-presidential republic, its capital is Erevan, population – 3 million (98.1% Armenian, 1.2% Yazidi, 0.4% Russian).