The Caucasus is a mountain region situated at the border of Eastern Europe and Western Asia, between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea. There are 3 post-Soviet countries in the region – Georgia, Azerbaijan and Armenia. Their combined population is over 16,5 million. Azerbaijan is a major regional energy player, supplying gas and oil to Europe.