Lithuania, one of the three Baltic states, a former Soviet republic, is bordered by Latvia, Belarus, Poland, and Kaliningrad Oblast (a Russian exclave). By the end of the 14th century Lithuania was the largest state in Europe. It was annexed by the USSR, but in 1990 Lithuania became the first of the Soviet republics to declare its independence. Lithuania, a semi-presidential republic, subsequently restructured its economy for integration into Western European institutions, and it joined both NATO and the EU in the spring of 2004. Lithuania owns a self-financed liquefied natural gas terminal, providing the first non-Russian supply of natural gas to the Baltic States.

Lithuania’s capital is Vilnius, it has an estimated population of 2.8 million (86.7% Lithuanian, 5.6% Poles, 4.8% Russian)